Highland Pony Enthusiasts Club
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Hello and Schooling advice please!
FizzFuzz
Fledgeling

[*] posted on 22-7-2014 at 12:40 PM
Hello and Schooling advice please!

Hello everyone! :wavey:

New to here and new to HiPo's! Have recently rehomed a 6yo Highland x TB (but think 15.3hh highland!). Big change from all the 17hh plus sports horses Ive had and I'm loving the difference! She is so much fun, game for anything and so much less of a diva than anything I have had before. However, as I'm new to the native thing, I wonder if I could get some schooling advice?

My girly is very off the leg with great paces but REFUSES to bring her nose in. Teeth, back and saddle all done, as well as vet check so no physical reason why she shouldnt be cooperating. Instructor a bit stumped too. Any suggestions, hints or tips?
Jeanette
Administrator

[*] posted on 22-7-2014 at 01:22 PM

Hello there!!

I'm in Hampshire too! u2 u me with your whereabouts!

My experience is that bringing the nose in happens very much from sitting really still by engaging the stomach muscle immediately under your rib cage, your pelvis well tucked underneath , soft knees, soft lower back , steady contact but not too short a rein and allowing the movement through your hips (but without exaggerating it). Rannoch has finally become quite consistent in his outline now (he’s 8) but I don’t actually use much leg at all. If Rannoch doesn’t respond to a squeeze to drop back down onto the bit I go straight to a flick with the whip..firstly because I don’t want to have to use leg but secondly because trying to put on a firm leg aid tends to upset my own balance.