Highland Pony Enthusiasts Club
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: HPEC homepage problems
Jenni
Super Freak
*****




Posts: 3707
Registered: 17-8-2004
Location: Mid-Devon
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 27-8-2011 at 09:09 PM
HPEC homepage problems


When I click on my link to HPEC I get the usual homepage with the highland photos, but no tabs to the forum or anything else. Kind fellow member sent me the link to get onto the forum.

Is this to do with the new website changeover? If so, how are you going to keep us informed if we can't get to the forum in the usual way?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Lysander
Super Freak
*****


Avatar


Posts: 4522
Registered: 14-5-2008
Location: Llandeilo Carmarthenshire
Member Is Offline

Mood: icy toes

[*] posted on 27-8-2011 at 09:21 PM


click on members area and you get a dropdown menu with members forum click on that and you're here



View user's profile View All Posts By User
Jackie
Unregistered




Posts: N/A
Registered: N/A
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 27-8-2011 at 10:32 PM


It is working for me and we haven't changed anything recent. About a week ago we slowed down the moving panels because it was annoying some folk. You need to wait till the forum panel swings by and click on it or do as Lysander suggests and go via the drop down menus.

Hope its ok for you now.




Jenni
Super Freak
*****




Posts: 3707
Registered: 17-8-2004
Location: Mid-Devon
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 28-8-2011 at 09:53 AM


I have never seen any moving panels. :umm?:

What is the url of the new website please? If I click on the little house at top right of forum it takes me back to old website homepage with no tabs/links to forum or anything. That is also what I get when I go to http://www.highlandponyenthusiasts.co.uk/ I can get to the forum via this link http://forum.highlandponyenthusiasts.co.uk/today.php that mulletsmum kindly posted for me on HPT when I posted a message about not being able to get on here.

If the new website has a different url, how are people who don't logon to the forum very often supposed to know how to get to the forum if it is no longer available from the old website?

[Edited on 28-8-2011 by Jenni]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Rebecca
Administrator
********




Posts: 22337
Registered: 17-8-2004
Location: Cleveland, UK
Member Is Offline

Mood: Loving my lovely ponies

[*] posted on 28-8-2011 at 11:08 AM


The reason may well be 'cookies' - ie your computer is remembering the old version rather than taking you to the new one when you click on the house. Thanks for alerting us to the issue - we will be making sure folk know how to find us and now we can put in a reminder about clearing the cookie cache too.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Jenni
Super Freak
*****




Posts: 3707
Registered: 17-8-2004
Location: Mid-Devon
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 28-8-2011 at 02:09 PM


I have now cleared my cookies and still get the old homepage. :banghead:

Okay, just tried in Internet Explorer and it works (see what everyone means about the panels). I use Firefox and have no wish to change. Does website guy have to do something to make the new site Firefox friendly? :dizzy:

[Edited on 28-8-2011 by Jenni]
View user's profile View All Posts By User
carolw
Hero Member
******




Posts: 6259
Registered: 4-1-2008
Location: Roxburghshire
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 28-8-2011 at 03:45 PM


I use Firefox and it's been fine



View user's profile View All Posts By User
Jackie
Unregistered




Posts: N/A
Registered: N/A
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 28-8-2011 at 06:47 PM


I will ask Wayne on Tuesday. But it should be ok whatever browser you use.



mulletsmum
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 8712
Registered: 26-6-2005
Location: Perthshire
Member Is Offline

Mood: Carpe diem - I grabbed it!

[*] posted on 28-8-2011 at 08:57 PM


Did you clear everything - temporary files, cache and the lot? I have just had a problem where IE was hiding something on my computer I thought it was pulling from the internet.

The web address is the same as it ever was - the front door is

http://www.highlandponyenthusiasts.co.uk/forum/

But to avoid some other technical problem when you go through the front door you end up in http://forum.highlandponyenthusiasts.co.uk/ without knowing it!

I will be interested in the answer from Wayne as I have similar problems with the endurance web site I look after





View user's profile View All Posts By User
Jenni
Super Freak
*****




Posts: 3707
Registered: 17-8-2004
Location: Mid-Devon
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 29-8-2011 at 07:05 AM


Thanks Mulletsmum. I cleared the cache and that did the trick. :thumbs:
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Wayne
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 5
Registered: 17-8-2004
Member Is Offline

Mood: ..

[*] posted on 30-8-2011 at 09:52 AM


Hi Jenni, glad you got it sorted.

I'm Wayne what built the site... Hi everyone.

That did indeed sound like your computer was storing the old version of the site so clearing cache was the right thing to do. The other thing you can try is holding down ctrl (or command on a mac) and pressing f5. Just pressing f5 refreshes the page from local cache, but holding down ctrl too forces it to refresh from the server.

If anyone has any other questions about the site, or indeed if I can help about computers and t'internet in general please let me know. I'll be happy to help if I can.

Wayne
View user's profile View All Posts By User
Jenni
Super Freak
*****




Posts: 3707
Registered: 17-8-2004
Location: Mid-Devon
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 30-8-2011 at 08:38 PM


Thanks Wayne and :hi:
View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2009 The XMB Group
[Queries: 18] [PHP: 62.2% - SQL: 37.8%]